Northside Primary School

Northside Primary School - Achieving and celebrating success where every child matters


Children will be encouraged to develop as enthusiastic, confident, independent users of the English Language through the spoken and written word.  We aim to provide opportunities for all pupils to achieve through holding high expectations and responding appropriately to their diverse learning needs.

We value the linguistic and cultural diversity of all the children at Northside and appreciate the contribution this makes to their learning.

•       All children have the right to be literate.
•       Development in literacy is not only the acquisition of new skills but also a
      more sophisticated ability to handle familiar skills.
•       Talking, listening, reading and writing are inextricably interwoven.
•       All teachers in the school have a responsibility for the development of
•       Literacy is not a separate subject but is cross-curricular.  

We aim to:
•       Develop pupils’ abilities and enthusiasm for English within an integrated programme of Speaking & Listening, Reading & Writing.  
•       Promote the centrality of Speaking and Listening across the whole curriculum.
•       Promote reading and writing for enjoyment.
•       Give pupils opportunities to interrelate the requirements of English and the Primary National Strategy for Literacy within a broad and balanced approach to the teaching of English across the curriculum, with opportunities to consolidate and reinforce taught literacy skills.

For all children at Northside to be able to:
•       Speak and listen, read and write with confidence, fluency and understanding, orchestrating a range of independent strategies to self monitor and correct.
•       Understand a range of text types and genres.
•       Demonstrate a developing imagination and level of inventiveness.
•       Show a developing sense of critical awareness and the ability to be reflective.
•       Access a suitable technical vocabulary through which to understand and discuss their reading and writing.
•       Use ICT to develop their literacy skills.

We want our pupils to develop a love of reading – to read for enjoyment as well as a means of learning.  We aim to provide opportunities throughout the school day for reading. The literacy curriculum is designed so that children meet a variety of texts in various contexts.

The school teaches phonics systematically using the ‘Letters and Sounds’ scheme.  Phonics is taught daily in Foundation Stage and KS1.  Five phonics groups operate with pupils attending a group depending upon their stage of development not their age.  Children who join Key Stage 2 during the school year are assessed and if necessary placed in an appropriate phonics group. Key words are taught alongside phonics to ensure words that do not fit phonic patterns are also known. Teachers complete phonics grids each half term, noting which phases each child is working on in the Letters and Sounds scheme.

Pupils will experience many forms of writing and will be encouraged to write for different audiences.  Great emphasis is placed upon the process of writing and pupils learn to edit and re-draft their work before producing a final piece. All parts of the writing process are used when teaching the units from the Primary Literacy Framework. Writing is cross-curricular, tying in with class topics where possible. At least once every half term, a piece of writing is given a ‘real’ purpose and is used within the school/ wider community in some form e.g. letter to the council or a newspaper article for another year group

Time Allocation
There are five allocated literacy hours per week and two to three hours for the provision of the wider English curriculum e.g. guided reading, drama, library skills etc.  Literacy is also taught through cross curricular topics as part of the Creative Curriculum.


Northside School Literacy Curriculum Map– 2017/18

New National Curriculum – Literacy Genres at Northside 2017-18

Year 1 Literacy Units

Year 2 Literacy Units

Year 3 Literacy Units

Year 4 Literacy Units

Year 5 Literacy Units

Year 6 Literacy Units


For more information

Literacy National Curriculum 2014